Review: SIGMA 50mm F1.4 DG HSM | A by Vivek Krishnan

Vivek Krisnan: The camera I use is 5d mark 3 canon and the first sigma lens I ever used was
Sigma 35 mm. This is one of the lens that I totally fell in love with and it is
from then that I have wanted to try all other lens from Sigma. I had never shot
with the Sigma 50mm lens ever but like I mentioned earlier I always wanted to
try it. Finally, I got a chance to experiment with this lens for about 2 weeks
and shot around 6 weddings with it .
All you need to do is just hold the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 ART lens in your hand to
know that it is quiet a serious lens. The craftsmanship that has gone into this
lens becomes evident just by the way it feels in your hand.
I used the Sigma 50mm lens predominantly to cover the bridal make-up shots.
During the functions, this lens helped in capturing some stunning portraits of
the bride along with her facial expressions .
These images were shot at 1.4 and in very low light conditions. But the
focussing ability of this lens even in such conditions was perfect . Though it
took me sometime to get used to the focal distance, I had some amazing
images once I got a hang of the lens.
Sharpness of Sigma 50mm lens is another must-mention. I took some
photographs specifically to see how the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 ART performed at
widest aperture and not once did it fail to deliver absolute perfection. This lens
also managed to floor me with an excellent edge-to-edge sharpness.
While Sigma lens fared extremely well on sharpness, bokeh is something that
this lens need a little bit of working on. While it gives a decent bokeh, I have to
say that it is not as smooth as the canon 50 mm. Apart from this, I would also
not recommend using Sigma 50mm to do wide-open shots as it delivers
slightly darker images .
But for me, these negatives isn’t of any real significance compared to the
brilliant performance it delivers consistently on sharpness and focus. The way I
see it, the best part about Sigma 50 mm lens is its good quality product at
right pricing . For this alone, I would unreservedly invite all photographers to
give it one try.
Leave a Reply

